Stick to it

Dear reader, dear Japanese learner. I bet you cannot count all the methods being available, presented in order to achieve fluency in Japanese. The first question a human being, greedy as hell, asks him or herself is, which is naturally the best. Which method will work best – most efficient (i.e. becoming fluent quickly.

The factor ‘fun’ however is not calculated into this calculation, because in 99% the fastest way cannot be the most funny way. ‘Fun’ means relaxation. Don’t tell me learning the whole day is fun. It’s not. It’s de facto a ‘lie’. You reach your capacity and you need breaks. If you call then the day a 24-hours-learning-and-immersing-in-japanese-environment day, then please do so. But you can’t tell me you remember every little detail. I state this as almost impossible. Tell me the opposite, please, if you find an example. Btw, Khatz from AJATT does not count. For me he’s something special — or rather: he managed to organise the 24-hours-learning-and-immersing-in-japanese-environment day quite well in order to achieve fluency. But this is something everybody has to do on his own.He watched/read/etc. things, that were fun for him. Now you have to find stuff that makes that much fun that you want to forget about all the other languages you perhaps already know about and only concentrate on Japanese.).

What an excourse, but anyway.

(Another one: I do trust and believe in Khatz and his method; I fully respect him, though I think a whole bunch of self-discipline and self-structure is needed before even starting with the learning process. The process has to be integrated into your daily life as much as possible, try to translate every word you encounter using a dictionary – see my link page for more information on that. This process may be time consuming indeed. On the other hand his method seems too radical to me personally. It has to be the right ‘mixture’..)

Yeah, there are 10000000 myriads of methods and ways a language is a) being taught and b) being learned, which is more important for us, right. But stick to one. Get your personal habit; I just can’t stress it enough, as I am personally experiencing right now. I don’t care about all the methods. I do not want even to waste time, as I’m persuaded my method right now became such a good habit and is that well integrated into my daily life.

“If something about the way you study is not working for you, change it.  (TM)” — Nukemarine

Wise words the koohii-guru spoke! You should really take them – barely – like this. Don’t question it. It’s like 1+1=2. If you don’t understand, learn it by heart. Fullstop. If you feel your method does not work, change it. Change your habit, your environment, whatsoever. Experiment with it. Try out different things – until something works out well enough for you, in a way it satisfies you (progress/successes!).

This entry was posted in japanese. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

